Modeling chemical Reactions

The new trend in chemistry (which I agree with) is to have the students draw chemical reactions pictorially (models). I have been trying to incorporate this idea this year in chemistry, but I have this nagging “bug” in the back of my mind. “do the students need to know how to draw Lewis Structures before we have them representing molecules?

I remember the “Whole Language” idea that invaded the English classroom a few years ago which allowed students to ignore correct spelling of words, so they wouldn’t be throttling the flow of ideas onto a paper.

I feel that, without Lewis Structures, we will be doomed to repeat what history as deemed a bad idea.

I used to do an atoms-first approach to chemistry. Looks like I will be going back to this which can allow for Lewis structures before reactions.

Leave a Reply

